Day 0: Train and Cycle to John O’Groats

Right now I’m sitting in the lounge car of the Caledonian Sleeper to Inverness. I had no problems getting to the station other than my normal inability to navigate London. Once I got there it was simple to lock up my bike and get settled in my berth. Then I found the lounge and found a seat to occupy until it is time to sleep.

I’m looking forward to the riding, but after taking a look at the weather today I’m dreading the constant rain that seems to be coming. It looks like my first day or two will involve packing up a wet tent, but clear riding during the day (maybe some wind). After than it looks like I might have constant rain to deal with. Looks like I’ll have some more practice putting away a tent and sleeping bag during rain. Always a fun intellectual exercise to figure out how to take apart a tent from the inside to minimize the amount of soakage.

This entry was posted in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 0: Train and Cycle to John O’Groats

Leave a Reply

