Day 1: Wick to John O’Groats (17 miles)

This morning I transfered at Inverness to the train to Wick. It turns out that the reason that it takes so long to get to Wick (>4 hours) is because you get a nice sightseeing tour of roughly half of the Highlands.

After getting off the train at Wick, I started up the GPS and so the first result of this trip are available for your viewing pleasure. The ride was uneventful, but the landscape was amazing. I tried to take a picture of the coastline, but I don’t think my camera did it justice.

At the campground right next to the start/end point of the End to End I met a man who had just finished his journey. He had walked the entire stretch in 66 days. That is determination!

Tomorrow I set off for Tongue. I might have to skip getting my name in the register of people doing the End to End because the cafe where I have to do that doesn’t open until 10am.

This entry was posted in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

